top of page
Un:seen

Interview: Isabassi

Updated: Nov 11, 2019

Isabassi is a producer and a DJ from Brazil, based in Berlin. Not only does she create and play music herself, she also actively works to make the Berlin night scene richer - she is a resident and co-founder at Hölle, and also a part of suspension. For the first issue of Un:zine, she has sent us a written interview.



How would you describe your work?


My main inspiration comes from the art of drum-programming and finding an organic flow within it. That's what I have always looked for in all the various musical styles I play as a DJ. For me it awakens an instant desire for movement - be it dancing or whatever. I like to play sort of industrial, experimental, breaks and darkwave. I don't like to specify genres because you never know what you'll be playing tomorrow, But when I combine this rhythmical energy with dirty distorted sounds I'm having the most fun.


Could you describe your geographical journey of immigration?


I was born and lived in Brazil, but my whole family is Italian. Brazil is a country where you find all kinds of nationalities. Visiting Italy often made me curious about living in Europe, and it has big contrasts, with their good and bad sides. After graduating, I moved to Berlin to study music production and found myself amazed by all the opportunities this city offers for you, be it in music, work, friendships, activities, etc. I had never achieved such feeling of comfort in my home country.


What got you into music in the first place? Was there a specific moment?


I was always looking for music. I think spending a lot of time searching for different artists and music to listen to made me want to be able to play them somewhere. I started DJing in Brazil around 2015. I didn't have so many friends that I could talk to and share my taste in music with as I have here in Berlin, and this is something that definitely pushes you forward.


Would you say that your different geographical background has influenced your music? If so, how?


My drive to programme beats probably comes from Brazil and the varieties of

rhythms you can find there.


Have you experienced any difficulty entering into music scene due to your identity? If so, how?


Fortunately, I never experienced any difficulty in the music scene—if I did, maybe I was blind to see it. Although as you start, I sense people are interested in seeing what you are about, how you perform, etc, especially men. If these people already have preconceptions in mind, that's where the problem is. I think I always tried to put myself as equal to the other people I'm relating with. Although I don't feel directly affected by it in a personal level, I'm aware of its influences in the big picture. The barrier exists, it affects my community and all the people around us, and it's amazing to see all the movements that emerge against it and have the opportunity to be part of them. Disgraced & Displaced (Editor note: former name of "Un:seen") is one of them. I may not feel disgraced nor displaced, but it’s the way of putting the movement in focus, calling for some reflection and action.


What keeps you going, nevertheless?

Basically friends and people I'm related to, ideas and projects we share together, their endless support and constant refreshing inspiration and my personal endeavours in a music journey.


Hölle is part of it, a series of events I co-founded with a friend, Jules, where we put together handpoke tattoo and live electronic acts. It’s a night about experimenting - be it through the music or what people are getting on their skins.


I also released my first album 'Utterly Prone To' last July, on Fox & Hound Records. The tracks and their creation process are very close to my heart, so it was a beautiful reward to receive positive feedback for it - and that is really fuels me to do more and more.


What or who is your biggest inspiration right now?

Again, I would say my friends. It's just so motivating to see all of them chasing their projects, and achieving milestones. All of them are sharing their artistic expressions with me and it's an endless inspiration.

What do you think needs to be done in the music community to reduce barriers?


I think it is a long mentality change, but things like this party are steps needed to reduce these barriers. Inclusive actions, safer spaces to express yourself and everything about gender equality education, in micro and macro environments. We've made huge steps already making the music scene more accessible (still not entirely) to all, regardless of their gender or nationality or whatever. But as the time passes, you see the conflicts are becoming bigger and way more problematic - because we are getting to the extreme points, where certain things can’t be tolerated anymore in 2019.


 

Interview conducted by Agathe Blume. Edited by Siobhan McKay. Art and image design by Liam Li.

12 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page